Submit2019-09-11T21:29:01+00:00

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES

Harvard Review publishes short fiction, poetry, essays, and book reviews. Writers at all stages of their careers are invited to apply; however, we can only publish a very small fraction of the material we receive. If you are interested in submitting your work for consideration, please refer to the guidelines below. We recommend that you familiarize yourself with Harvard Review before you submit your work. You can find information about the current issue as well as subscription information online.

When is your reading period?2019-09-12T04:43:14+00:00

During 2019, we will be accepting submissions from January 7th to April 7th and then again from August 1st to November 27th.

How should I format my manuscript?2018-06-07T18:36:07+00:00

Manuscripts must be paginated and clearly labeled with the author’s name on every page. Please submit no more than 5 poems or 7,000 words of prose. Do not send the only copy of your work as we do not accept responsibility for unsolicited manuscripts.

Do you accept book reviews?2018-06-07T18:36:41+00:00

We do not accept unsolicited book reviews. If you are interested in reviewing please write to reviews@harvardreview.org describing the kind of books you would be interested in reviewing and enclosing one or more recent clips.

Do you accept paper submissions?2018-06-07T18:37:33+00:00

Yes. For submissions by mail, please include a cover letter and a self-addressed, stamped envelope (SASE). If you would like us to consider work in more than one genre, please send each piece in a separate envelope with a separate cover letter. Mail to: The Editors, Harvard Review, Lamont Library, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138

How often can I submit my work?2018-06-07T18:38:19+00:00

We ask that writers submit no more than twice a year.

Do you accept simultaneous submissions?2018-06-07T18:38:46+00:00

Simultaneous submissions are encouraged, but we ask that you notify us if the work is accepted elsewhere. If you sent work via Submittable, do not email the editors to withdraw part or all of your submission; instead, withdraw in Submittable, or for partial withdrawals, add a note to your submission.

What is your response time?2018-06-07T18:39:19+00:00

While we try to respond to submissions within 6 months, it can occasionally take longer for a manuscript to be read. We ask for your patience as we do make every effort to read all the submissions we receive.

Can I inquire about the status of my submission?2018-06-07T18:40:15+00:00

Unfortunately, we are unable to respond to status inquiries.

ONLINE SUBMISSIONS

We are currently reading new submissions. Our reading period ends on November 27th.

You may submit your manuscript online via Submittable. There is a $3 processing fee for online submissions.